PopularFX
Home Help Search Login Register
Welcome,Guest. Please login or register.
2024-05-18, 17:56:06
News: Forum TIP:
The SHOUT BOX deletes messages after 3 hours. It is NOT meant to have lengthy conversations in. Use the Chat feature instead.

Pages: [1] 2 3
Author Topic: Water Arc Explosions (aka arc electrolysis and H2O-arc)  (Read 14803 times)
Group: Moderator

Gentlemen -

I'm studying a phenomenon called "water arc explosions" where anomalous heat production has been claimed for a long time, yet there appears to be  little ongoing / careful-quantitative research at this time.

I'm interested in learning more - and invite your participation.  I'll be glad to share what I learn.

1.  Past history is summarized in a 2013 paper by a high-school student (Animas HS, in Durango, Colorado):

Section III: Summary of Past Research
Water arc explosions were first described in 1907 by John Trowbridge of Harvard University, though the phenomenon was not studied in detail until it caught the interest of Peter and Neal Graneau in the mid-1980s (Graneau and Graneau, 1985). By discharging a high-voltage capacitor through around 100 mL of water, the Graneau team was able to expel the water from a dielectric cup. At the time, the Graneaus conjectured that the arc discharge generated high- pressure steam within the water which expanded rapidly and resulted in the observed explosions. Measurements in Graneau and Graneau (1985) and Hathaway and Graneau (1996) indicated that water arc explosions were unusually strong.
--http://www.tuks.nl/pdf/Reference_Material/Electrolysis_Water_Arc_and_Dielectric_Breakdown/Leavitt%20-%20Do%20water%20arc%20explosions%20release%20internal%20water%20energy%20-%202013.pdf

Can anyone help find the 1907 paper by Trowbridge -- or the 1985 papers by Graneau and Graneau?