PopularFX
Home Help Search Login Register
Welcome,Guest. Please login or register.
2021-10-21, 07:00:30
News: Registration with the OUR forum is by admin approval.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
Author Topic: Rigol DS1054Z -- Features, Usage, and... BUGS !!  (Read 65571 times)
Group: Ambassador
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3582
So It most definitely continues to be a problem and notwithstanding if there is one problem.. there may be other issues entirely   which could effect accuracy of the instrument ? How would we know ?? and Now we have an instrument which we can't trust...

For simplicity can you Post a quick Log of Known issues,[For My call to Jason [and beyond]

thx
Chet
« Last Edit: 2015-06-10, 21:04:09 by Chet K »
   
Group: Guest
Oh, I don't think I'd go so far as to say that we can't trust it. No more so than any other low-end scope, anyhow.

The issue with the FFT seems to be a matter of settings that are really not very realistic, and as I've been fooling around testing the FFT today, I now think that issue is resolved and that the FFT is producing accurate information when used within its range and limits.

So I think the main issues are not so much with "accuracy" but rather general usability.

The Freeze Bug, especially the Start-up Frozen subspecies, is the major one.

Some others would be:
-- the very slow saving screenshots to USB (the time can vary from just a few seconds to over six minutes!)
-- similarly, it can take several minutes for a setup file to finish loading and allow operation again, although the screen usually seems to indicate proper setup after a few seconds
-- the fact that the Memory Depth resets to Auto under certain conditions when scope is started or when a setup file is loaded

These are my major concerns at the moment. But except for the slow saves and loads, the issues are avoidable by taking some care not to set up the conditions, and checking Mem Depth after startups and setup loads. The slow saves and loads are annoying. Having to wait up to six minutes for a 50kb .png file to be loaded onto a USB stick is just silly. Saving screenshots does go faster if the scope is Stopped; but I haven't figured out how to avoid that long load time when setup files are loaded.

There are some other things that could be changed to make the scope more friendly and usable, most of these are talked about in the thread at EEVBlog forum:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-ds1000z-series-(ds1054z-ds1074z-ds1104z-and-s-models)-bugswish-list/

   
Group: Guest
Well... I've found _yet another_ bug in the Rigol DS1054Z scope. See the screenshot below. The Math trace is displaced or delayed by 1 or 2 divisions to the right, when the scope is set to 500 ns/div and "Average" acquisition mode is used. Change the timebase, or use other Acquire modes,  and the Math trace goes back to normal behaviour. Notice the difference in the "delay" error between the left and right sides of the screen.
I don't need to be using all four channels, just the two in the Math equation are enough.
   

Group: Professor
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2379
Yup, Rigol should pay you for beta-testing their products
   
Group: Guest
Yup, Rigol should pay you for beta-testing their products

Heh... that would be nice, for sure. But probably they wish I'd just shut up and go away and stop posting about all the bugs in their best-selling product.

Still haven't heard anything more about the Freeze Bug, since I reported it on June 8th and got a reply from Jason that they were "working on it". At EEVblog we have 24 cases of "can reproduce" against 22 cases of "can't reproduce" the Freeze Bug reported, but I think they've lost interest there. The general attitude seems to be "Hey, it's so cheap, so quit complaining, be happy that it even works at all on two channels". I must be the only person owning one who expects it to work on all four channels with all features operational and without freezing up. And with things like Math traces appearing properly...

 
   
Group: Guest
Here's a test shot using a pulse signal from my FG rather than an actual circuit measurement. Both active channels are connected to the same FG signal output. At 500 ns/div the Math AxB trace is displaced... it looks like the Math trace is set to a different timebase or something, since the displacement varies according to screen position. This displacement also happens with A+B math and other two-trace math at 500 ns/div horizontally, whether in zoom mode or not.

Obviously this makes it hard to have confidence in actual Power measurements. I guess I'll have to write a note on a bit of tape and stick it to the scope, warning not to use 500 ns/div when looking at trace math. Stick it next to the other bits of tape warning about other bugs. Right.

By the way I've upgraded to the latest firmware version 00.04.03.SP1, and this had no effect on either the FreezeBug or this horizontal Math error. Except maybe the scope no longer automatically sets "Auto" memory depth upon rebooting, which was a problem before that led to the FreezeBug.

Still have had no emails from Jason since the 8th of June.
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3008
Quote from: TinK
Still have had no emails from Jason since the 8th of June.

That is not uncommon.  While debugging and re-coding efforts
are underway things may go quiet temporarily.  Solutions will
be found and corrections will be made in order to attain the
best possible performance within the limitations of the
hardware.  Their reputation is at stake.  Satisfied customers
are always a very high priority.


---------------------------
For there is nothing hidden that will not be disclosed, and nothing concealed that will not be known or brought out into the open.
   
Group: Guest
Well TK,

I finally did it.  I managed to lock/brick my Siglent SDS1052DL scope.  The good news and something I want to share for anyone else that has a Siglent or rebranding of the Siglent (such as BK).  Just hold and cycle at one second intervals the MATH button when powering on.  This will clear any inconsistent configuration that was saved when the scope was powered down.  An undocumented feature that only the engineers commonly know about, now released to the public.

Cheers!

M@
   
Group: Ambassador
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3582
Wow
same fix for a slow elevator....
what a coincidence.. In NYC when the elevators are running slow ,and your sitting there waiting
[and so is your customer waiting for you upstairs on the 40th floor]
Machine gun pushing of the button always seems to fix it [surely it is broken ..its taking so long  ???

I'll never forget when I was a younger man I had an older fellow standing there watching me push the button more than I should
[like a nut] ...his comment was "hey Kid its not hydraulic " the button doesn't run the pump.

  :o
as Johnny Carson use to say "I did not know that"   C.C

all kidding aside ,I am certain there will be great appreciation for your "fix" !
and probably the Biggest appreciation was from you when it "unBricked".


   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1501
Hi Guys, I had a big birthday yesterday and I'm looking to get a new scope. Despite the bugs are the 1054z owners happy with the scope?
   
Group: Guest
Hi Guys, I had a big birthday yesterday and I'm looking to get a new scope. Despite the bugs are the 1054z owners happy with the scope?

My Siglent is a fair bit lesser of a scope than the Rigol and I'm quite happy with it.  I'm sure you will get great use out of a 1054z.

I think sometimes if an experiment needs better test equipment than I can afford, maybe I should take up a new hobby.


And Happy Birthday Jim!
« Last Edit: 2015-10-07, 14:58:13 by Matt Watts »
   
Group: Guest
Yes, happy I am with the scope. Its functional features outweigh the bugs, and Rigol are likely to be fixing bugs in firmware updates as time goes by.

The full set of triggers, and the 100 MHz bandwidth, which come with the "unlocking" really add to the bargain as well.

The probes that come with it are a little flaky sometimes but for my purposes they are adequate, once the "gotchas" are understood and taken care of.

If you decide to get the scope and have any questions about its operation or features just let me know, I think I've got mine pretty well figured out and I'm glad to help.

Some people have complained about the fan "noise" but actually, I can't even hear mine over the noise from the other fans in the room, like my computer (which has 4 fans) or the air conditioner. My bench power supply is a lot noisier.

The scope has only 1 megohm impedance inputs, so if you plan to use it with, say, FG with 50 ohm outputs or other 50 ohm equipment, you might consider adding a Rigol 50-ohm thru terminator (adapter) to your order. It costs 18 dollars US.

I'll always be grateful to Chet and the other kind folks who pitched in to buy this scope for me. I would never have been able to afford it on my own and it has modernized my laboratory greatly. Thanks again !!
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1501
Thanks guys. I think I'll proceed with the purchase. I'll be rewatching a lot of your vids TK.  O0
   

Group: Professor
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2379
Thanks guys. I think I'll proceed with the purchase. I'll be rewatching a lot of your vids TK.  O0
You will not be sorry.  Especially once you "upgrade" it to the 100MHz and they correct these bugs in firmware.
   
Group: Guest
Here's the riglol keygen zipfile, "for reference only"    ;)

It contains 4 versions: Windows executable, OSX executable, generic HTML that will open in your default browser, and Linux sourcecode. (The versions are in the "bin" directory in the zipfile, the Linux source is in the "src" directory.)

The Windows exe version and the HTML version, and probably the OSX version, work as supplied. The Linux version needs to be compiled for your own flavor of Linux, but do it in a separate directory so that the compile doesn't affect the other three versions (just copy-paste the whole "src" folder to a new separate folder before compiling.)

The "DSER" option code isn't listed in the keygen instructions but will work anyhow. You don't need a "private key" just the SN of the scope and the "DSER" option. DSER gives all the trigger and decode options plus the 100MHz bandwidth. Don't even try the high-sensitivity vertical option, it doesn't work with the 1054z.

If you screw up the data entry to the scope three times, you'll get "locked out" for 12 hours of runtime before you can try again. Once the scope is upgraded it will report itself as a DS1104z in the system  info screens. The latest firmware  _does_ still allow the upgrading, as of now; we are expecting a new firmware later in October but it probably will still allow upgrading too, I hope.

The easiest way to enter and remove the upgrade is to use Telnet over the LAN connection, using the commands below (without quotes, and with caps and lowercase exactly as written):

Use ":SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall" to go back to DS1054Z

Use ":SYSTem:OPTion:INSTall XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX" to enter a key, where XXX is your key (without hyphens or quotes...)

Or you can enter the key in the Utility menu using the knob-button-virtual keyboard thing, but be careful to get all the characters right. It's easy to mix up the "S" and the "5" in the tiny font they use.

 
I'm not responsible for this, I'm just the messenger...     My advice is to _not do it_ until your scope is burned in enough so you know you aren't going to have to return it under the vendor's warranty, but it is easy enough to remove it and restore the scope to original using the "UNINSTall" command above, as long as the scope is still working ...    ^-^
   
Group: Elite
Hero Member
******

Posts: 3541
It's turtles all the way down
TK

thank you for the supplied information, I'll be placing an order for the scope in the next few days.

I'll do the upgrade after I have become familiar with all operations of the scope, so that I can do some accurate comparisons before and after.

On another note I notice that some folks are offering the Rigol 1074Z for around $466 USD. It is a 70 MHz version, look alike to the 1054Z, but some say hackable to 200 MHz. It may or may not include the S option on board, ( less connectors), which is a two channel signal generator.

I'll buy the 1054Z, but was just wondering if anyone here has researched the 1074Z?

Thanks for your input and help.

Regards, ION


---------------------------
"Secrecy, secret societies and secret groups have always been repugnant to a free and open society"......John F Kennedy
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3841


Buy me some coffee
Hi ION

I bought the 1074S version, the dual DDS although handy is limited to 5V output and not easy to set the frequency as you need to dial it in digit by digit using a rotary knob and associated button.

Not tried the PC software, maybe that makes it easier.

but all in all very happy with this scope.

Peter
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1501
Picking up mine today  :) Thanks for the info TK.
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1501
Woohoo
   
Group: Guest
Uh-oh... looks like you got the Upside Down version... maybe they sent you a USA model instead of the Aussie model....   :D

 O0

   
Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1399
... .-.. .. -.. . .-.
Ah, I see a clear case of reported Bug 103.4
"Care must be taken, if placing the scope within 5m of telecommunications equipment. In particular, cellphone imagery may be flipped 180 degrees, due to Southern polar dielectric alignment constants, in the mere presence of this Rigol product. It should also be noted, that image manipulation software has not been able to correct the problem, the image will stay upside down, due to having been taken within the Southern polar dielectric constants. Proposed solution - a hammer, several large planks of wood and a scream".

Congrats Jim :)


---------------------------
ʎɐqǝ from pɹɐoqʎǝʞ a ʎnq ɹǝʌǝu
   
Group: Ambassador
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3582
As Johny Carson use to say

I did not know that... :D
   
Group: Guest
Very nice Jim.  Looking forward to seeing those slick looking 800 x 480 scope shots.   O0
   

Group: Professor
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1502
Geez,

Aren't 'scopes small and light these days.  My first introduction to an oscilloscope at age 16 was an old Cossor 1035 double beam job, and it took all my strength to lift it.

Smudge
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1501
actually all the photos on this forum are upside except mine and Brads I think it's hemispheric polarisation.. but I'm guessing
   
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
« previous next »


 

Home Help Search Login Register
Theme © PopularFX | Based on PFX Ideas! | Scripts from iScript4u 2021-10-21, 07:00:30