PopularFX
Home Help Search Login Register
Welcome,Guest. Please login or register.
2020-04-08, 09:41:45
News: If you have a suggestion or need for a new board title, please PM the Admins.

Pages: [1] 2 3
Author Topic: Power Supplies  (Read 30173 times)

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3190
tExB=qr
This thread is for discussion of power supplies for the AVEC Device...

On page 20 of The Aether Vortex Energy Converter: AVEC, Revision 1.0, it is stated:

Quote
If you use a 1200V/1300V or 1400V cap there are a handful of mosfets that could do the switching rated at 1500V. The
current max should be well below 50ma. Protection diodes should be used. The snubber is a must; check out the tech
sheet pdf on snubber calcs sent previously.

This small current requirement is easily met with small flyback converters and neon power supplies.
   
Group: Elite
Hero Member
******

Posts: 3639
It's turtles all the way down
This is what I use for most of my testing, constant voltage, constant current or constant power.  One can be had on ebay for $100 (typically $400 surplus but original cost $$$$). They were made for electrophoresis work and are lab grade. Be careful...up to 2500 volts.

Edit: Some of these electrophoresis units put out pulsating DC and may not have internal filter caps. Easily modified though.
« Last Edit: 2010-09-27, 12:15:38 by ION »


---------------------------
"Secrecy, secret societies and secret groups have always been repugnant to a free and open society"......John F Kennedy
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3190
tExB=qr
Thanks ION, been looking at some of these on ebay.
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2906
It's not as complicated as it may seem...
There are a couple of these PS2500's on ebay. Cheapest is $200. Other about $250. Add at least $50 for shipping in the US. Probably $150 to Canada.

Are these not PWM units? Would be nice to have a home-brew design all could easily build.

I'll add it to my to-do list of test equipment designs  :-\

.99
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2906
It's not as complicated as it may seem...
Perhaps a toned-down variation of this might be an option.

Another page with some ideas.

.99
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3190
tExB=qr
Snatched up a Hoefer PS-2500 for $100 + $37 shipping.

There are more good deals but need to save some coins.
   
Group: Elite
Hero Member
******

Posts: 3639
It's turtles all the way down
Here's another from my collection that I use quite a bit:


---------------------------
"Secrecy, secret societies and secret groups have always been repugnant to a free and open society"......John F Kennedy
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
Just bought a EC600 for 163USD


---------------------------
   
Group: Elite
Hero Member
******

Posts: 3639
It's turtles all the way down
AS GK and Grumpy will soon see, these electrophoresis supplies are not toys, they are very robust and heavy units capable of delivering their max power rating continuously. They take a little getting used to.

The Hoefer units remember their last power setting and continue from that setting in the event of a brownout.

The EC600 will not start if it senses an EMF present at it's output so I use an isolating diode if my DUT has a battery ot capacitor which can backfeed.

The Hoefer unit goes to 2500 V, EC600 goes to 4000 V.

Nice to be able to limit voltage, current or power.

The wattmeter is also a very nice feature to have.  

You simply cannot beat the bang for the buck these surplus units deliver. I am grateful to have these devices on my bench.


---------------------------
"Secrecy, secret societies and secret groups have always been repugnant to a free and open society"......John F Kennedy
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
I felt an upgrade from the hand cranked supplies I built would be better.
Looks like I one-up-ed G on the V! LOL. And we shall see.
Stated in the AVEC thread: for now I only want a better HV control.


---------------------------
   
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 530
And I'm still rubbing sticks together. Wow that 4000v range looks very interesting. I can only imagine pulsing that high voltage at high frequency, what the effects would be. Its also a good tool for testing step down techniques. Hmmmmm.


---------------------------
   
Group: Elite
Hero Member
******

Posts: 3639
It's turtles all the way down
Hi Poynt

Quote
Perhaps a toned-down variation of this might be an option.

Another page with some ideas.

.99

That first link looks like a good one for brute force work. Can be built from scavenged parts. Regulation might be a problem with the voltage multiplier, but for Hi-Z constant loads probably ok.

The second link are  flea power output good for light electrostatic work. I use corona wire supplies from old laser printers and copy machines......but for those who like to roll their own.....


---------------------------
"Secrecy, secret societies and secret groups have always been repugnant to a free and open society"......John F Kennedy
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2906
It's not as complicated as it may seem...
Hi ION, thanks.

I found those links in a 2 minute search. Not sure if they were of any use or not. Perhaps it's best to just spend the $400 or so on an EC600.

We'll see.

;)
.99
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
Up to this point I have not seen enough HV used in most tests.


---------------------------
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3190
tExB=qr
I went for the Hoefer because I wanted more current and the ability to easily adjust everything.  I was getting good results with a 4000v converter at about 20ma. 

Turn the current down and use the constant voltage setting and should do fine.
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
You got it!

I say 'Damn the torpedoes, Full speed ahead!'

My Variac monster supply can put out 5kv @ 6a. But really only voltage control.

I went for the Hoefer because I wanted more current and the ability to easily adjust everything.  I was getting good results with a 4000v converter at about 20ma.  

Turn the current down and use the constant voltage setting and should do fine.


---------------------------
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2906
It's not as complicated as it may seem...
A DIY circuit, 4kV, 70mA.

Possible starting point for a home-brew design.

.99
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3738


Buy me some coffee
That psu is an exact copy of the one i built (That i copied  ;D)

http://www.overunityresearch.com/index.php?topic=307.msg3878#msg3878

I am very impressed with it, regulation is really good.
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2906
It's not as complicated as it may seem...
Got an EC600 today on ebay.

Cost: $75
Shipping to Canada from the US: $125

.99
   

Group: Tinkerer
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3190
tExB=qr
Got an EC600 today on ebay.

Cost: $75
Shipping to Canada from the US: $125

.99

Does this mean you will be hitting the bench soon?
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 3738


Buy me some coffee
What a bargain for such a power supply, these i bet will go up in value as more OU people catch on.
Wish i could grab one myself, but the shipping and import tax to the UK puts it outside my current pocket money level  :'(
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
I got mine yesterday also!  ;D 160USD.
It is cleaned and setup on the bench. I turned it on and no smoke. Have to get HV wire for leads today.

What a find! I like the adjustments and meters.


---------------------------
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
Very valuable.
I also saw a self oscillating flyback to Villard bank powered off a 12v battery. Very cheap way to get HVDC. With that said this would be a good introspect into the small component count in the TPU to produce an HV bias. Starting to more and more like a stungun. ;D
A DIY circuit, 4kV, 70mA.

Possible starting point for a home-brew design.

.99


---------------------------
   

Group: Elite Experimentalist
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 1471
Frequency equals matter...


Buy me a drink
Here is the current shout progress about my ec600"
(18:20:11) tao: :)
(19:42:47) poynt99: news:O How about I spent a couple hundred bucks on yet another boat anchor :D
(19:43:49) poynt99: Love that old HQ test equipment ;)
(19:44:42) poynt99: I hope this one works out of the box....they seldom do in my experience anyway
(19:45:24) poynt99: usually f@#$%ked up by some jackass that tried to repair the thing....
(19:46:23) poynt99: never done right, and they always seem abused. Well I guess that's how lab test gear goes most of the time
(20:46:31) giantkiller: your ec600 is trash?
(20:57:57) poynt99: Not sure GK. Ihaven't received it yet ;) I just referring to my previous experience buying all the HP etc. equipment I have
(20:59:59) poynt99: even the scope which I paid $2k for apparently has a fault in it. I'm hoping I can repair it
(21:00:42) giantkiller: I put a meter on mine in the 50v range . volts adsjust did nothing.
(21:00:50) poynt99: there is often a reason equipment ends up on ebay...it's a risk, but as long as you are handy and can get schematics, you might be ok
(21:01:54) poynt99: hang one sec while I pull up a picture of one
(21:03:51) poynt99: are you sure? I think the min voltage range is 500V
(21:06:19) poynt99:
(21:07:19) poynt99:
(21:08:17) poynt99: and pressing the "start" button doesn't give results?
(21:11:45) poynt99: hmm, seems E-C Apparatus is out of business
(21:11:50) poynt99: :(
(21:21:04) poynt99: I think Thermo Scientific bought the rights to E-C Apparatus
(21:21:27) poynt99: I have contacted them via email asking if a manual might be available for purchase.
(21:21:45) wattsup: ebay is the lake and we're all fishin.
(21:22:00) poynt99: you may contact them also: 1-800-874-3​723
(21:22:12) poynt99: yep
(21:22:31) giantkiller: i am hooking up the 2meg res and a uwave diode to see if the external meter will register
(21:23:13) poynt99: good luck, hope it works
(21:23:32) poynt99: Do you get any output at all?
(21:23:44) poynt99: on any range or any setting?
(21:24:05) poynt99: I would not be surprised if the output is fused
(21:24:12) poynt99: have you opened the unit up?
(21:24:39) giantkiller: i am at 100vdc! looks like I have a unit so far. I need to make the resistor div to the meter for hv
(21:24:50) giantkiller: yes I have opened it up.
(21:25:08) wattsup: drum roll please.....​..
(21:25:32) giantkiller: I still have to test for the other switch settings.
(21:25:50) poynt99: ION mentioned that it wants to see a min load I think?
(21:25:51) giantkiller: there relays in it. And when they click you jump!
(21:26:30) giantkiller: you turn it on.
(21:26:40) giantkiller: then press the set button.
(21:26:59) giantkiller: press the norm button
(21:27:11) giantkiller: then press the dc on button and your good to go.
(21:27:31) giantkiller: after the set button you adjust
(21:27:43) giantkiller: then the norm button
(21:30:09) poynt99: kinda makes sense
(21:30:31) giantkiller: some shout arent getting thru
(21:30:47) giantkiller: up 400vdc at the 1k button
(21:31:12) wattsup: and it is supposed to go up to 4000v?
(21:31:12) poynt99: yeah, it's a known problem, sorry :?
(21:31:39) giantkiller: i need bigger resistor for the divider up to that.
(21:32:18) poynt99: what makes sense to me is to use "Normalize meters" to zero them, first. Then use "set reading" to adjust the voltage, then press the "start" button
(21:32:31) giantkiller: so all 3 knob are needed to set an output.
(21:32:40) giantkiller: .99 yeah but other way
(21:33:00) giantkiller: no you right
(21:33:47) giantkiller: so far this just shweet!
(21:34:09) poynt99: great!
(21:35:52) giantkiller: just took it upto 1kvdc! the unit holds it settings! the ext meter flipped out. max 1kv
(21:37:13) poynt99: ;)
(21:37:41) giantkiller: the 1kv test was on the 2kv, 20 watts, 5ma buttons
(21:38:04) giantkiller: so I go to fistells tomorrow for the big divider
(21:38:28) giantkiller: suhweet!
(21:39:04) giantkiller: the unit does take a moment to normalize and a bit to bleed down when off.
(21:40:01) giantkiller: i want to use the pots off a flyback to divid. any comments?
(21:40:48) giantkiller: i also have the huge diode from my exploding tv replica
(21:41:56) giantkiller: also the ec600 'at setting' light come on at the correct time.
(21:42:05) giantkiller: liths
(21:42:12) giantkiller: lights, finally
(22:03:47) giantkiller: i will call 1-800-874-3​​723
(22:05:41) giantkiller: oh yeah. I been upto 1k@5ma


---------------------------
   

Group: Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Posts: 2906
It's not as complicated as it may seem...
Received my EC600 today.

Unfortunately, the seller did a very poor job of packing the unit and it has suffered significant chassis damage from a drop or two.  >:(

I have not powered the unit up, and I'm not really inspired to now. I have emailed the ebay seller to see what they want to do about this.

We all make mistakes from time to time, but this thing weighs quite a bit, and how to pack it properly should have been a no-brainer.  :-\  I hate when this happens!

.99
   
Pages: [1] 2 3
« previous next »


 

Home Help Search Login Register
Theme © PopularFX | Based on PFX Ideas! | Scripts from iScript4u 2020-04-08, 09:41:45